I was lucky enough to go down to Tijuana for Thanksgiving and work with and photograph Spectrum Ministries.

Even more wonderful was that I was able to write an article and post a photo gallery from the day via my new job at The Patch.

Here’s the article: http://imperialbeach.patch.com/articles/thanksgiving-thursday-in-tijuana

And here’s the photo gallery: http://imperialbeach.patch.com/articles/photo-gallery-tijuana-thanksgiving#photo-3465113

I couldn’t be more excited to be following my dream and finally working as a photojournalist again. The best part about it is that The Patch not only assigns me stories to write and photograph, but allows me to seek out my own. That’s why I got to combine all of my loves yesterday. Ministry and photojournalism. I couldn’t have asked for a better Thanksgiving.

Along with taking photos of the events of the day, I shot dozens of portraits of the neighborhood residents where we were working. By the end of the day, I had groups coming up to me tugging at my sleeve and camera strap, asking for their photos to be taken.

This is one of my favorite portraits of the day.

2 Responses to “portrait of tijuana.”

  1. Britt

    Love your photo blog, especially your color palettes. Which camera are you most comfortable with?

    Reply
    • chelsearoberson

      Thank you! I use a Canon 30D. I kind of grew into a photographer with Canon (started on the 10D) and have stuck with it since because I’m comfortable with it. At some point I’d love to be able to scrounge up enough money to upgrade to a newer model!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

